BAHS: Thirsk Prize 2021

November 24, 2020 | Other news
Home > BAHS: Thirsk Prize 2021

The British Agricultural History Society is pleased to invite submissions for its Thirsk Prize, awarded annually for the best book in British or Irish Rural or Agrarian History. Books published for the first time in 2020 in the broad area of British and Irish rural history, or which use Britain and Ireland as comparators, are eligible.

Submission is by sending a pdf of the work to the Secretary of the prize committee by12 noon on 11 January 2021. The winner will be announced in April 2021. Full details of eligibility and how to submit can be found here.

Previous winners of the prize have been:

Peter Jones
Agricultural Enlightenment: Knowledge, Technology and Nature, 1750-1840 (OUP)

Briony McDonagh
Elite Women and the Agricultural Landscape, 1700-1830 (Routledge)

Paul Warde
The Invention of Sustainability: Nature and Destiny, c.1500-1870 (CUP)

Rosamond Faith
The moral economy of the countryside. Anglo-Saxon to Anglo-Norman England (CUP)