Annual Conference New Researcher Prize

T.S. Ashton Prize

The T.S. Ashton Prize, established with funds donated by the late Professor T.S. Ashton (1889-1968), will be awarded annually, at the Annual Conference, to the author of the best article accepted for publication in the Economic History Review in the previous two calendar years, who satisfies one of the following conditions at time of submission:

  • The author is within five years of receipt of her/his PhD;
  • The author normally has no previous publication in the field of economic and/or social history, or a closely related field.

The prize is currently £750.

Thirsk-Feinstein PhD Dissertation Prize

The Economic History Society has introduced an annual prize of £1,000 for the best doctoral dissertation in Economic and/or Social History.

Eligible candidates can be nominated by a dissertation supervisor or an examiner.  All dissertations must be written in English and must have been awarded during the calendar year preceding the prize.  For example, to be eligible for the 2025 prize (which will be presented at the 2025 annual conference) the thesis must have been awarded during 2024.  Nominations should be accompanied, in the first instance, by the following:

  • A covering letter from the student’s supervisor, stating in no more than two sides why the dissertation is so outstanding that it should be considered for a prize. The contact details of the nominee should be provided.
  • A copy of the external examiner’s/examiner committee’s report.

If the Prize Committee deems that the dissertation merits serious consideration, a copy of the thesis will be requested. Please note that we will be unable to return these.  Please note too that we are unable to offer feedback on individual theses, or the judging process.

The winner of the Thirsk-Feinstein Prize will be announced each year at the annual conference.

Nominations, and supporting materials, should please be sent to the Administrators.

Deadline for applications: 31 December 2024.

First Monograph Prize in Economic and/or Social History

The Economic History Society awards a prize of £1,000, on a biennial basis, for the best first monograph in Economic and/or Social History. Eligibility for the prize is normally restricted to books published within 10 years of the author having been awarded a PhD, although allowances can be made for authors who have had a career break (e.g. for parental leave).

Only monographs published in English and published during 2024 and 2025 will be eligible for the 2026 prize.

A copy of the author’s full CV, which should include a current email address, and three copies of the book under consideration must be submitted with the application.  The books cannot be returned to the author.

The winner of the First Monograph Prize will be announced at the annual conference.

Nominations, from any member of the Economic History Society, should be sent to the Administrators. The deadline for applications is: 30 September 2025.  Books published by 31 December 2025 will be eligible for consideration, however, the nomination must be received by the 30 September deadline.

Books should please be mailed to:

Dr Alice Whiteoak
Economic History Society
c/o Department of History, Larkin Building
Faculty of Arts, Cultures and Education
University of Hull
Hull   HU6 7RX