Standing Committees

Home > About the Society > Standing Committees

The Society’s committees report to the Executive and to Council, which appoints their members after receiving suggestions from the Executive.  Committees may co-opt members with the consent of Council.

Members of Council will normally be expected to serve on one or more committee during their period as a trustee. The Society’s committees may also include non-Council members with appropriate skills, expertise and commitment.

The following Standing Committees of Council are currently in operation:


Awards Committee

The Awards Committee considers applications to the Initiatives and Conference Fund, the Carnevali Small Research Grants Scheme and the Research Fund for Graduate Students.

Membership: Two members of the Society, the Honorary Secretary, and the Honorary Treasurer.  The committee is chaired by the Honorary Secretary.

The Honorary Secretary considers applications to the Facility Grants for Undergraduate Students fund (which is also administered by this committee) with the exception of those applications received from his/her own institution, when other members of the committee are consulted.

Members of the committee will not normally serve for more than three years.  The chair and the Honorary Treasurer may serve for the period of their office.


Conference Committee

The Conference Committee is responsible for organising the central academic programme for the annual conference and for advising and assisting the work of the local organiser(s) in arranging the New Researchers’ Sessions and accommodation/ hospitality.  It is responsible for wide circulation of the calls for papers, for accepting and rejecting proposals and for commissioning additional papers or sessions to ensure that the conference is of the highest quality and reflects a wide range of the research interests and concerns of the membership of the Society.

Membership: Three members of the Society, plus the Conference Committee chair, the Honorary Treasurer and the local organiser(s).  The local organiser(s) serves for the 12-month period prior to each conference, other members for a three-year period (on a rolling basis), with the exception of the Honorary Treasurer who serves for the period of his/her office. The chair of the conference committee is ex-officio a member of the Executive Committee and is invited to attend Council.


Fellowship Committee

The Fellowships Committee administers funding to support the work of post-doctoral students converting a recently completed doctorate into published form.  It advertises, and awards annually, a Power, a Postan and a Tawney fellowship which are administered through the Institute of Historical Research. From time to time additional Fellowships may be awarded.

Membership:  Two members of the Society, the President, the Honorary Treasurer, the Director of the Institute of Historical Research (IHR), and the convenor of the Department of Economic History at the London School of Economics.  The committee is chaired by the Director of the IHR.

The President, the Treasurer, the Director of the IHR and the convenor of the Department of Economic History at the London School of Economics serve for the period of their office, other members normally serve for a three-year term.


Investment Committee

The Investment Committee considers reports from the Society’s investment advisers and recommends appropriate action by the Treasurer.

Membership:  Two members, elected by Council from among its own membership, and the Honorary Treasurer.  The committee is chaired by the Honorary Treasurer.


Publications Committee

The purpose of the Publications Committee is to promote the study of economic and social history through publication of relevant research and scholarship.

The functions of the committee are to devise and monitor a publication policy for the Society which will ensure that: the content and form of publications, sponsored or otherwise supported by the Society, fit with the overall objectives of the Society; the quality of publications is maintained at a level appropriate to a learned society; and the scope of publication is appropriate to the multiple constituencies of economic and social historians which comprise membership of the Society.

Membership: The Editors of the Review, the Reviews Editor, the Honorary Treasurer, the Honorary Secretary, the Editors of New Approaches to Economic and Social History, the chair of the Schools and Colleges Committee, two other members of the Society and a chair.

Members will normally serve for a three-year term or for their term of office; the chair may serve for three years plus up to an additional three years.


Public Engagement Committee

The Public Engagement Committee is responsible for the development of the Society’s communication and IT strategy, which includes all matters relating to the Society’s website. It is also responsible for initiating and coordinating publicity for the Society, particularly relating to the annual conference; liaising with and monitoring the activities of any media consultant(s) the Society might engage; actively encouraging the use of social media for the benefit of the Society; facilitating and encouraging public engagement by members of the Society; offering advice to colleagues on media and public engagement matters.

Membership: a student member, two member of the Society (all three with a particular interest in the use of social media) plus a chair; the chairs Conference and Schools & Colleges committees. Members may serve for three years plus up to an additional three years.


Schools and Colleges Committee

The Schools and Colleges Committee aims to promote interest in economic and social history in schools and colleges and to maintain good lines of communication between teachers of the subject at secondary and tertiary level.

Membership: Members of the Society who are school or FE college teachers, and other members of the Society, including the chair.

Members may serve for three years plus up to an additional three years.


Women’s Committee

The Women’s Committee aims to promote the participation of women in all areas of economic and social history.

The committee organises an annual workshop and proposes a session or sessions for the annual conference.   It also encourages and sponsors proposals to the Publications Committee for publications related to its concerns.

The committee makes an annual report to the Council of the Society and the organisers of the Annual Workshop make an independent report to the Treasurer.

Membership: membership of the committee is open to all.  A chair and a secretary generally serve for three years, but the chair may serve for three years plus up to an additional three years.