EHS Annual Conference 2021 – Prize-giving

April 27, 2021 | News
Home > EHS Annual Conference 2021 – Prize-giving

The Society awards a number of prizes every year at the Annual Conference.

The 2021 prize-giving session can be viewed here.


The 2021 prize winners:

New Researcher Poster Prize

Victoria Gierok (University of Oxford), A poverty of numbers: First poverty estimates fore pre-industrial Germany, 1350-1800


Safya Morshed (London School of Economics), Merciful tyrants? Explaining rebel forgiveness and state capacity in Mughal India, 1556-1707

New Researcher Paper Prize

Maylis Avaro (Graduate Institute, Geneva), Zombie international currency: The Pound Sterling, 1945-72


Áine Doran (Queen’s University Belfast), A Poor Inquiry: Poverty and living standards in pre-famine Ireland

Thirsk-Feinstein PhD Dissertation Prize

Joseph la Hausse de Lalouvière (Harvard University), ‘Enslavement and Empire in the French Caribbean, 1793-1851’

T.S. Ashton Prize

Thilo NH Albers (Humboldt University Berlin), ‘Currency devaluations and beggar-my-neighbour penalties: evidence from the 1930s’, Economic History Review, 73: 233-257 doi: 10.1111/ehr.12874